Coffee? On Vacation?

img_4487
As I was sitting here, dreaming up my next blog topic–enjoying a delicious cup of coffee–I stated thinking about the hassles of coffee on vacation. I don’t know about you, but I like to start my day with a wonderful cup of coffee (okay, sometimes 2 or 3). And, every once in a while, I want to have a cup in the afternoon as well. This is all good and fine when I am at home, with my trusty Keurig and Cafe Verona by my side–or when I travel to Gatlinburg WITH my Keurig and Cafe Verona. But when I travel elsewhere, I find myself struggling with coffee issues.

Yes, I can make that sad packet of coffee provided in the room and put in the powdered cream packet–or I could head down to the hotel/resort restaurant and order a cup or watered-down brew. I certainly don’t want to head out to the nearest Starbucks, so I usually take what I can get. This got me thinking, though, about the best coffee that I have had while traveling–and I have narrowed it down to 2 places.

img_2098

Room Service at Sandals Negril with 2 pots of Jamaica Blue Mountain coffee

The first: all Sandals and Beaches Resorts simply because they offer Jamaica Blue Mountain coffee. I can have it delivered via room service (in certain room categories) or enjoy it at any of the restaurants. This is, by far, the best and most consistent coffee that I have had throughout the Caribbean. Very little is required to make it taste amazing.

 

14445092_729486210552118_7521322612047254460_o

Cappuccino at Secrets Maroma Preferred Club Lounge

 

The second: Secrets Maroma Preferred Club Lounge in Rivera Maya, Mexico. Not available in my room–so I do have to venture down to the Preferred Club–the cappuccino in the lounge is simply amazing. Full of flavor and a little added spice, this is a perfect way to start the day. The Preferred Club rooms do offers Nespresso makers, which are a nice touch. For those of you, like me, whose coffee requires some doctoring, you won’t have much option but to drink it plain. Better than most, but still not as appealing as that cappuccino.

 

What about you? Do you have a favorite place to get your coffee while vacationing?

Leave a Reply

